Tags

, ,

button by TaraSG

So, Amanda over at On a Book Bender put up a nice goals + updates list and I think I’ll shall copy her form as I like it and it is concise.

Time Devoted to Reading

I will be aiming to read all week during the Read-a-thon at times that I’m not at school. So mainly once I get back home from school and on the weekend.

My Goals

  • As I have to go to school and do work for my PhD my time is limited so my goal is to finish 2-3 books
  • I want to finish my library books first and then move on to my TBR pile
  • To read every day while I’m not at school

Books To Read

  • Finish Paper Towns by John Green (I’ve already started this and will only have a few chapters left by the time the Read-a-thon begins. So I’ll just mark this down as pages read rather than a book finished)
  • Zoo City by Lauren Beukes
  • Coyote by Allen Steele
  • Super Powers by David J. Schwartz*
  • The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency*

* – Hopefully I get to these books in the time that I have.

Updates

Like Amanda, I am choosing to do all my updates in one post.

10/24
Number of books I’ve read today: .57 (179 pages)
Total number of books I’ve read: .57
Books: Paper Towns by John Green
Notes: I had started Paper Towns before the read-a-thon and finished it today. I LOVE this book. It actually had me laughing out loud at some parts (the road trip) and I really enjoyed the bittersweet ending.

10/25

Number of books I’ve read today: .25 (86 pages)
Total number of books I’ve read: .82 (265)
Books: Zoo City by Lauren Beukes
Notes: I didn’t get as much reading done today as I wanted. I had a long day at school and then a nice chat with my roommate before I dragged myself up to bed for a bit of reading and then nighty-night.

10/26
Number of books I’ve read today: .26 (88 pages)
Total number of books I’ve read: 1.08 (353 Pages)
Books: Zoo City by Lauren Beukes
Notes: Again not as much reading as I want to have got done but not horrible either. I’ve been reading on the bus to and from school and that seems to be a good strategy. I read some when I’m home but I’ve been getting home so late that I never have that much time. Especially as I had to take an hour to made dinner last night.

10/27
Number of books I’ve read today: .49 (166 Pages) + .05 (28 pages)
Total number of books I’ve read: 1.62 (547)
Books: Zoo City by Lauren Beukes + Coyote by Allen Steele
Notes: I finished Zoo City. It was awesome! There is REALLY good world building in this book and the author is very good at setting up a story. I started to read Coyote last night. I plan to go to the library today though and turn in the books I finished and pick up a reserved book. The reserved book is Graveminder. I might set aside Coyote for Graveminder though as Graveminder is the October book for my book club.

10/28
Number of books I’ve read today: .06 (34 pages)
Total number of books I’ve read: 1.68 (581)
Books: Coyote by Allen Steele
Notes: I just didn’t get into the reading groove today. I had a long day at school and when I got home I spent some of my time talking to people back home. Tomorrow I will go to the library and pick up two books on hold for me there, Graveminder by Melissa Marr and Looking for Alaska by John Green. Yay!

10/29
Number of books I’ve read today: .5 (162 pages)
Total number of books I’ve read: 2.18 (743)
Books: Graveminder by Melissa Marr
Notes: I set aside Coyote by Allen Steele and picked up Graveminder. I want to finish Graveminder as it is part of Calico’s book club and I want to be able to participate in the discussion on her review.

10/30
Number of books I’ve read today:
Total number of books I’ve read:
Books:
Notes:

I’m so excited! ^___^

Also, I have a LJ account that I forgot to put on the master list. So if you have an LJ and you post on that any comments from Teiira are me!

