Today is the tenth anniversary of the attacks of 9/11. It’s strange to be another country at this time.

Today’s post won’t be too long. I just wanted to put some of my thoughts down for remembrance of this day:

I remember the day of 9/11 very clearly. I was at choir. It was 0 period of school and very early. One of the girls came in late to choir and announced to the class, “They’ve attacked the pentagon.” Hardly anyone could believe it. Rather than have class that morning we pulled a t.v out of the corner of the room and found a local news station. What we saw was horrific and heart-wrenching. That day was a very sad and somber day at my high school. For weeks after we learned more about the attacks, on not just the pentagon but the world trade center and the twin towers. We saw people jump/fall to their deaths as the planes crashed into the buildings.

Our country hurt. Our country cried.

A lot has happened in the ten years since that event but to this day it holds such power over us. I’m in tears just writing this. Still we hurt but most of us banded together and stayed strong.

I don’t agree with some of our actions since then, the way we used it as an excuse to have the wars that we’ve had. But I’m proud of our troops for protecting our country. I’m proud of the first responders at the 9/11 site, all the firemen and policemen who endangered their lives to possibly save someone in the wreckage.

9/11 will be a day I remember for the rest of my life, and every time I sit and think about it I will cry. I remember the fallen of 9/11 today. My love goes to those we have lost then and since that horrible incident. My heart goes out to the people who have lost loved ones because of this. Today is a day for our country to say, “I remember. I grieve. I stand tall.”

Love, Taylor

Memorial Flag
